Girls Without Shoes

March 17, 2009

The Bed Making Angel

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlswithoutshoes @ 5:40 am

That’s what my friend calls it,  my “bed makin’ angel”, as that’s what my angel helped me with, making a bed.  Sounds silly, call me crazy if you will.  I am not one of those folks who worships angels or anything.  Oh sure, I believe God sends angels to help out, just not sure how.  I believe there are angels all around us and they might come in different shapes and forms.  I do believe that when you “entertain a stranger, you might in fact be entertaining an angel”.  I believe, I just don’t think much about it, nor try to figure it all out.   For one thing, it’s not my business, it is God’s.

Now back to the bed making angel story.  My mother in law had passed away a few months before this happened, so somehow I felt it was to do with her.  Maybe she became my angel then, or maybe the angel came and helped me because of all of the stress in our family in loosing her.

It was an extremely horribly, sad and stressful time for us as I said.  My husband fell completely apart, darned near lost his mind, and almost made me loose mine after his mom died.  He really went off the deep end.  Did more drugs than ever before, and was just a huge mess.

I was a stressed out emotional mess myself, trying to work and take care of our 11 year old daughter and my elderly mom , who had moved in with us just a few months prior to my mom in law’s passing.  That alone was an adjustment for our household.   Add the husband mess and whammo, extremely exhausted woman was I, on top of all of it.

One night I was changing my mom’s sheets and felt like I was falling apart.  I felt like making this bed was such a huge tiring chore, I literally thought, “I can’t do this little chore!”

I reached to pull the sheets and covers up towards the head of the bed and then back down to make it look nice, and when I did, it seemed like I felt a pair of hands next to mine pulling them up and then down right along with me.   It was such a strange sensation that I actually turned to look behind me to see who was there.  No body there.  I chalked it up to my mother in law’s spirit trying to help me, as she used to many years ago when I was just a young woman.  She would come over and help me at different times. It was rather comforting.

That next summer, on my daughter’s 12th birthday, she started her first “woman’s time”.  That night I woke up and went into the kitchen looking for a snack and a drink of water and was standing at the stove snacking on something.  I thought I saw a whitish apparition-ish looking thing flit around the corner into my daughter’s bedroom.  There was a mirrored armoire facing her room and I saw the thing in the mirror first.  It looked kind of like a woman’s long white nightgown flitting by, kind of transparent looking.

It scared me a little, I thought of poltergeists, but instead felt it may have once again been my mother in law’s spirit trying to be close to my daughter.

I will never know, nor will worry too much about it.  I don’t sit around thinking about ghosts or spirits or angels as I said before.  I have never had any experiences such as this at any other time either.  Just these two isolated incidents.

As time went on my bed making angel and daughter’s protector became a comforting presence to me, in that I felt the love of my mother in law somehow through it all.

I just wish that bed makin’ angel would do the dishes too.

4 Comments »

  1. amen to that! I do find it somewhat interesting I used angels in my post today too. With intention. makes you think. that is a beautiful thing, whether it is your mother in law or not, any out of this world help is a beautiful thing… a little spooky too… 🙂 cindy

    Comment by Cindy Hanson — March 17, 2009 @ 2:59 pm

  2. I have just found your blog, your words impress much. Your style so clear, so strong.
    The world is strange, so much beyond our grasp of understanding yet you pull it in well. I look forwards to reading more of your thoughts.

    Comment by Duma Key — March 17, 2009 @ 11:27 pm

  3. Thanks for sharing this story. I love it and believe that you and your daughter are experiencing the grace of a spirit.

    Comment by tobeme — March 20, 2009 @ 4:29 pm

  4. I really enjoyed your post and your use of words to express your situation in life. I have experienced many times when life was almost impossible to continue through even to accomplish the small duties in life…and somehow strength is given to finish well. We have an amazing God.

    Comment by robin — March 20, 2009 @ 9:38 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

